Compassion 101

My oldest daughter reminds of myself in many ways. One of them is her intense gift of compassion. She always roots for the underdog, takes on the pain of others, and insists on justice. All qualities of a superhero! I’m glad this is part of who she is. Because of this, I find myself praying for her to develop wisdom. One without the other can be dangerous.

I’ve learned that prayer should always be my first act of compassion. It helps me to focus on what God really needs to do in the situation. The most obvious response isn’t always the best answer. Compassion makes you want to give, be, and do. In some cases that’s exactly what God wants. Then there are the other situations. Sometimes they are the circumstances that really pull on your heart. I’m faced with this more and more in my life. The hard thing is, I’m finding God requiring me to intercede not interfere.

This has not been very easy. I’ve had to say “No” when I’d normally say the opposite. Though I’ve prayed I’ve even felt guilty at times. But, in those instances when I went to work on my knees instead of with my hands, God has let me see the situation turn around. When you are compassionate, people will often come to you before they go to God. Other times they come because what they’ve heard from God doesn’t quite suit their desire.

So, for those reading this who know just what I’m talking about…I’m praying for us. I declare that God will increase our wisdom as He increases our compassion. I declare that He will continue to remind us that the spiritual need is always greater than the physical and when our compassion is moved we will minister to both.

For the Lord giveth wisdom: out of his mouth cometh knowledge and understanding. (Proverbs 2:6 KJV)

Be encouraged,

T.

20130529-105929.jpg

Leave a Reply

