Vanity & Vexation

Solomon was a man who asked God for wisdom. He wanted to understand the mysteries of life, just like many of us do. Years ago, I remember praying and asking God to give me wisdom. I had no idea what I was asking. It’s not been easy, but I’ve learned that true understanding comes through experience.

Vanity of vanities, saith the Preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity…. I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all is vanity and vexation of spirit. (Ecclesiastes 1:2, 14 KJV)

I have a friend who joins me in laughing at those two verses. It seems we laugh at those scriptures even more when we’ve really been dealing with serious things. We know that life isn’t always easy but we’ve learned to grab the chance to lighten things up.

Though this life may be puzzling, frustrating, and sometimes overwhelming I know just what wise King Solomon meant later in Ecclesiastes:

Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man. (Ecclesiastes 12:13 KJV)

Keep striving, keep pressing and keep His commandments.

Be encouraged,

T.

20130525-231702.jpg

Leave a Reply

