Five Smooth Stones

When David was a boy he went after Goliath.  He went with five smooth stones in his bag to face a giant that had tormented all of Israel.   He used his mouth to declare God’s might. David stood before Goliath and let him know that he was defeated.  I know what that’s like.  In my own life I’ve never been a physical fighter but I’m deadly with my words.  Even before I knew how much power I had in my mouth I was wielding this weapon.  I can relate to the kind of burning anger that David had in him when he finally laid eyes on Goliath.  I can almost hear the conversation he had inside his head when he was preparing to go and meet that giant.  

And Saul armed David with his armour….And David said unto Saul, I cannot go with these; for I have not proved them. – 1 Sa 17:38-39 (KJV)

Saul tried helping David by giving his armour.  David knew he had to have something he’d proven; something he could trust to work.  So he went before that giant with the greatest armour there is…his faith in God.

Then said David to the Philistine, Thou comest to me with a sword, and with a spear, and with a shield:  but I come to thee in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom thou hast defied. – 1 Sa 17:46 (KJV)

What was left for David to say?  David was sure of his God.  He was sure of God’s covenant with the children of Israel.  He was sure of who God was in his life.  He was sure that he would not be left or forsaken.  He was sure that God was greater than the pitiful giant Goliath.  So he took his slingshot and his five stones and he defeated the enemy of his entire nation.  Goliath’s vendetta wasn’t personal but David’s was.  

In this season in my life, I’m like David.  I refuse to let any loud mouth giant come and try to make my God look small.  The kind of blood boiling, righteous indignation that David felt is in me.  I’m using my mouth like David used those stones.  I’m confident in my God and who my God is in me.  Over the past few weeks Goliath has been taunting me and those around me.  Like David, every time he has risen up I’ve declared his defeat.  Each time, God has made it happen.  Be encouraged today.  Go to the water (Jesus), get yourself some stones (The Word of God), and go to battle (speak it).  Goliath is not bigger than our God!!!

Be encouraged,

T.

One thought on “Five Smooth Stones

Leave a Reply

