Joy to the World!

I heard a song earlier today that reminded me of my childhood.  My parents weren’t churchgoers but Mom always found a way to get me to church.  The song I heard reminded me of the church that I attended as a child with a family friend.  When I was young, every time I heard the song I’d cry.  The soloist would belt out her part and when the choir started singing the chorus I’d find myself in tears.  When I was listening to it today I realized that it’s a song about dying and going to be with the Lord.  When I heard it today, I wasn’t moved to tears though.  Instead I started to think about recent events in my life and in the world at large.  Things seem so desperate and people seem so ready to get outta here – one way or another.

It seems that even many Christians have become obsessed with the return of Jesus.  So obsessed that they don’t seem to be enjoying life.  It’s sad really.  The very ones that are supposed to show the love and joy that comes with salvation are sulking.  I don’t want to be that type of Christian.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m certainly anticipating Jesus’ return.  The signs that my grandmother used to tell me about when I was a young child; well they are upon us.  The things that the scripture says about the last day are definitely in our face. But for me that doesn’t mean that I’m not to enjoy what God has given me to do on this Earth.  I want to see Jesus and my loved ones in Heaven.  But, while I’m here on Earth, I want Jesus to see me being a joyous representative of His kingdom to come.

11-16 Then I saw Heaven open wide—and oh! a white horse and its Rider. The Rider, named Faithful and True, judges and makes war in pure righteousness. His eyes are a blaze of fire, on his head many crowns. He has a Name inscribed that’s known only to himself. He is dressed in a robe soaked with blood, and he is addressed as “Word of God.” The armies of Heaven, mounted on white horses and dressed in dazzling white linen, follow him. A sharp sword comes out of his mouth so he can subdue the nations, then rule them with a rod of iron. He treads the winepress of the raging wrath of God, the Sovereign-Strong. On his robe and thigh is written, King of kings, Lord of lords. – Rev 19:11-16 (MSG)

Be joyful,

T.

Leave a Reply

