40 years, 40 days

Exodus 1-3 tells the story of Moses, from birth until he received his instructions to lead the Israelites out of Egypt. It was no easy task leading that grumbling, stubborn, unfaithful bunch of people. Moses had to forge ahead, in faith, with people who didn’t always cooperate or seem to understand. But, it was exactly those things that kept him in such close communion with God.

At one point, the Israelites found themselves in the desert of Kadesh and of course, they started complaining. There was no water and they got mad and started harassing Moses and Aaron about their situation. The pressure on these two to make something happen was intense. So, they went into the tabernacle to get an answer from God. God gave Moses specific instructions. Instead, Moses went out before the people and did something other than what he was told. In return, God let Moses know that he would not enter into the Promised Land with the rest.

And The Lord spake unto Moses and Aaron…therefore ye shall not bring this congregation into the land which I have given them. Nu 20:12 (KJV)

WHAT!!!!??!!??? Nooooooo Moses, Nooo! To add insult to injury, God allowed Moses to see it before the Israelites crossed over.

And The Lord said into him, This is the land which I sware unto Abraham, Isaac, and unto Jacob, saying I will give it unto thy seed; I have caused thee to see it with thine eyes, but thou shalt not go over there Deut 34:4 (KJV)

I’m on my way out of a personal wilderness experience. I know what God has promised and I have it clearly in sight. No matter what voices I hear, who’s complaining, or what it looks like, I’m going to make it in. I’ve messed up before and not followed directions. This journey won’t end with me missing my blessing. I’ve learned from Moses that I’m not willing to spend my 40 years in the wilderness only to die 40 steps from my blessing. I’m following directions.

Be encouraged,

T.

2 thoughts on “40 years, 40 days

  1. lisa edwards says:

    Hello Tanisha, this is speaking to me! I have been in my own wilderness, due to my own disobedience. I have been doing some serious self evaluating, and i am sick of being in my own way! Plz pray with me that i will take a hold of faith and step out of the boat, on the water. I love you much, smooches ; )

Leave a Reply

