Shoe Laces

Today my little one and I were walking home from school and his shoelaces were not cooperating. We stopped once and tied one lace. We stopped again to tie the other. Then it happened again! The third time I tried to stop him things didn’t work in my favor. He looked down at his shoe and said “Mom it’s fine.” Then he shot down the sidewalk ahead of me, happily resuming his fight with an imaginary bad guy. We made it the next few blocks home with that lace untied.

The rest of the walk home was a lesson for me. I watched that shoelace the rest of the way home. See, untied shoelaces are my pet peeve. But, he never stopped playing his game. The running, jumping, and karate kicks weren’t affected. He never stepped on that shoelace, stumbled, or fell. My son had declared that the shoelace wasn’t going to hinder his game. He declared it with authority (apparently because Mom never challenged him), and he moved on.

I was fascinated by it because since I woke up this morning a bunch of shoelaces have come untied in my life. So many things happened just today that my husband and I had to laugh. That walk with my little one this afternoon helped me to see. Even though the stuff that’s going on has the potential to trip me up I’m the one in control. So I made it through my day and I didn’t stop to tie my shoes. Just like my son, I looked at the circumstances and declared “Its fine.” I encourage you to do the same.

Verily I say unto you, Whatsoever ye shall bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever ye shall loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.(Matthew 18:18 KJV)

T.

Leave a Reply

