Determination

So I told you yesterday how excited I am rediscovering Paul’s letters. Well last night I had an extra exciting time in Bible study because we were in 2 Timothy. The teaching gave me a perspective that I had not considered. Paul was writing Timothy from prison. That’s something that I learned years ago. What I never really considered was Paul’s position when he was writing. He was a prisoner in a Roman jail. They were known for crushing their enemies and those who broke the law. He was being treated harshly, beaten and tortured yet he was writing to encourage Timothy.

Listening to the lesson made me really think about my own character. Do I resent having to minister to anyone else when I feel like my situation is terrible? Do the cares of my life overshadow the work I’m supposed to be doing? Honestly, sometimes I fail at both because I just don’t wanna be bothered. Paul’s character was on display as he wrote those letters. He was a man with a death sentence who made an informed and conscious decision to minister until his last breath. My purpose is to get there. I challenge us all to reach that place. Just think, if we do, no rocks will ever have to cry out. We will all be doing the work that Paul purposed to continue many years ago.

Thou therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. And the things that thou hast heard of me among many witnesses, the same commit thou to faithful men, who shall be able to teach others also. (2 Timothy 2:1, 2 KJV)

Let’s reach out,

T.

Leave a Reply

