Failure to thrive

Failure to thrive is a term used to describe a baby or young child who isn’t developing normally.  They are usually physically small,  emotionally and cognitively underdeveloped.  Sometimes it’s because they aren’t being adequately cared for.  Other times the problem can be some unidentified issue or disease.  From my experience, there is nothing worse than knowing a child is being cared for yet still isn’t thriving.

I wonder if I look that way to God.  Could it be that I know His word and live in His provision each day yet still don’t thrive?  That thought really troubled me.  So I asked myself some questions:

Do I give Satan more credit than I give God praise?

Do I live below my privilege because something in me doubts that I can really prosper in every area of my life?

Do I compromise to gain the approval of anyone other than God?

I was led to 2Chr 26:5

And he sought God in the days of Zechariah who had understanding in the visions of God: and as long as he sought the Lord, God made him to prosper.

I’m keenly aware of one reality. Without God I am nothing.  God has given me everything I need to be happy, healthy, and productive…to prosper.  My job is to seek Him.  I refuse to cause my Father the grief of one with a sick child.  My hunger for the meat of God’s word has been reignited and my passion for his presence is fresh!  I’m walking in blessed assurance that the work He has begun in me is going to be completed.  So I challenge you to ask yourself some questions. Discover your issues and treat them with time in The Word and God’s presence.

Let’s Thrive!!!

T.

2 thoughts on “Failure to thrive

Leave a Reply

